The qathet Regional District is governed by a regional board of seven directors: five electoral area directors who are elected for a four-year term by voters in the electoral areas, and two municipal directors who are first elected to the City of Powell River’s council and then appointed by council to the regional board. The board chair is elected annually by all directors at the board’s November meeting. The board chair appoints standing committees. All board members represent the interests of their particular areas, but must also view many matters from a regional perspective.

More about the Regional Board