In British Columbia, local government elections are held every four years. This includes elections for mayors, councillors, regional district electoral area directors and trustees for the Islands Trust. The last local government election was held on November 15, 2014. Elections for school board trustees were held at the same time.

For more details on regional district elections go to the Elections and Voting section of our website.

Local elections are governed by BC’s Local Government Act, and are managed by chief election officers appointed independently by each local government. For more information, go to the elections section of the website for the Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development.